NHIP welcomes new Advisory Board

Newcastle Health Innovation Partners (NHIP), an Academic Health Science Centre (AHSC) that brings together excellence in research, health education and patient care, has appointed its Advisory Board.


NHIP’s advisory board will provide independent specialist advice to help support its aim to bring together partners to improve the physical and mental health of its local community, address health inequalities and generate economic growth. The board will be chaired by Graeme Chapman, who is also chair of the NHIP Strategy Board, and brings over 30 years’ experience delivering business transformation across a number of industries, including over 20 years at Microsoft.


Other members of the board include:

  • Prof Ashley Adamson, Professor of Public Health Nutrition at Newcastle University
  • Prof Chris Day CBE, Vice-Chancellor and President of Newcastle University
  • Lisa Goodwin MBE, Chief Executive of Connected Voice
  • Brendan Hill, who brings 35 years’ experience in both NHS and third sectors
  • Dr Henry Kippin, Chief Executive of the North of Tyne Combined Authority
  • Heidi Mottram CBE, CEO of Northumbrian Water Group and Northumbrian Water Limited.
  • Dr Jonathan Sheffield CBE, a qualified Consultant Histopathologist bringing over 40 years’ experience working in the NHS as a doctor, medical and general manager
  • Nitin Shukla Nitin, Programme Lead for EDI & Hate Crime, Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner for Northumbria.


To read the full biographies of each Advisory Board Member, please click here.


Professor David Burn, NHIP Director, said: “Our advisory board members bring an exceptional range of skills and perspectives across health, industry, academia and the public sector that will all support us as we continue in our vision to bring together excellence in research, health education and patient care. I am delighted to welcome such a diverse group of experts who will provide us with new insights and perspectives that will encourage us to listen, learn and reflect on different ways of working.”


The board members are supporting until 2025 and will meet annually. The first Advisory Board meeting will take place in January 2024.

Skip to content